EVART PUBLIC SCHOOLS BOARD OF EDUCATION

Minutes September 11. 2023 7:00 p.m.

I. CALL TO ORDER

THE MEETING WAS CALLED TO ORDER BY ALAN BENGRY, AT 7:00 P.M. IN THE LIBRARY LOCATED AT 321 NORTH HEMLOCK STREET, EVART, MICHIGAN 49631

-MOMENT OF SILENCE WAS OBSERVED IN MEMORY OF THE LIVES LOST ON SEPTEMBER 11, 2001

II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

III. ROLL CALL

Alan Bengry \underline{x} , Todd Bruggema \underline{x} , Mark Moody \underline{x} , Gerald Nichols \underline{x} , Karen Pylman \underline{x} , Eric Schmidt \underline{x} , Kelly Whitman \underline{X} .

Also present: Shirley Howard, Superintendent

Jessica Kolenda, High School Principal Jason O'Dell, Middle School Principal Ken Ranjel, Elementary School Principal Amy Booher, Recording Secretary

Guests present: Gary Earnst, Amber Payne, Valerie Hopkins, Ryan Hopkins, Bart Gallinger, Ashley Cass, Brandon Cass, Meri Rehkopf, Jeanine Dyer, Paul Dyer, Natalie Price, Jordan Newman, Taylor Bryant, Ben Bryant, Sara Ladd, Tim Ladd, Judy Leyder, Curtis Leyder, Jared Araujo, Ken Wirth, Pepper Lockhart, Kelly Buckley, Zoe Babb, Michelle Johnson, Alyssa Larner, Patrick Craven, Amanda Brown, Annette Walters, Bre Grabill, Debbie Todd, Grace Henning, Jennifer Natale, George Sims, Jennie Duncan, Rosie McKinstry, Doug Isanhart, Rachel Isanhart, Sherry Morgan, Mari Lyon.

IV. PRESIDENT'S REMARKS/RECOGNITION OF GUESTS/PUBLIC COMMENT

- A. Jessica Kolenda shared about the Alumni Night Football Game- Friday September 22, 2023 at the Football Field. She also shared a special gift was given to EPS Schools from Dave Schlaak.
- B. Valerie Hopkins read a letter to share with the Board
- C. Jennifer Natale shared about the Evart Trap Team. Great things are happening with the growing Team.
- D. Charles Laitinen presented his concern for a recent situation that was brought to his attention.
- E. An Evart resident shared concerns about the new Health Center coming to EPS.

Jason O'Dell agreed to meet with the individuals after meeting. Shirley

- Howard mentioned we will have a special meeting in regards to the Health Center.
- F. A new member of EPS asked if there was an Opt Out for students with the Health Care Center.
- G. Points of Pride- Shirley Howard shared looking back over the last year and all the great things and improvements happening at EPS.
- V. COMMUNICATIONS/CORRESPONDENCE Karen Pylman shared a thank you note from Zoe Babb.
- VI. FINANCIAL
- VII. ACTION ITEMS
 - A. Recommendation to approve the minutes of the Board Meeting held August 14, 2023.

MOVED BY <u>BRUGGEMA</u>, SUPPORTED BY <u>MOODY</u> TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THE BOARD MEETING HELD AUGUST 14, 2023

Ayes: 7 Nays: 0 Results: Carried

B. Payment of Bills

MOVED BY <u>WHITMAN</u> SUPPORTED BY <u>NICHOLS</u> THAT THE TREASURER'S REPORT OF DISBURSEMENTS BE APPROVED AS PRESENTED.

General Fund invoices be approved for checks #47844 through #47843 in the amount of \$260,626.49 and the August 4th and 18th payrolls and benefits for the total amount of \$276,383.80.Hot Lunch Fund invoices to be approved for checks #7955 through #7966 in the amount of \$25,230.15.

Trust and Agency Fund invoices to be approved for checks #19014 through #19024 in the amount of \$13,919.37 Athletic Fund invoices to be approved for check #10266 through 10275 in the amount of \$12,226.92

Ayes: 7 Nays: 0 Results: Carried

C. Recommendation to Donelle Peterson as the Special Education Secretary, effective August 28, 2023.

MOVED BY <u>SCHMIDT</u> SUPPORTED BY <u>PYLMAN</u> TO APPROVE DONELLE PETERSON AS THE SPECIAL EDUCATION SECRETARY, EFFECTIVE AUGUST 28, 2023.

Ayes: 7 Nays: 0 Results: Carried

D. Recommendation to approve the extension of the Working Agreements with MaryAnn Corey, Amy Booher, Kevin Beilfuss, Angie Cushman and Bart Gallinger through June 30, 2024.

MOVED BY <u>BRUGGEMA</u> SUPPORTED BY <u>PYLMAN</u> TO APPROVE THE EXTENSION OF THE WORKING AGREEMENTS WITH MARYANN COREY, AMY BOOHER, KEVIN BEILFUSS, ANGIE CUSHMAN AND BART GALLINGER THROUGH JUNE 30, 2024.

Ayes: 7 Nays: 0 Results: Carried

E. Recommendation to approve the following Fall Coaches for the 2023-2024 School Year: Middle School Sideline Cheer- Kris Roberts

MOVED BY <u>NICHOLS</u> SUPPORTED BY <u>MOODY</u> TO APPROVE THE FOLLOWING FALL COACHES FOR THE 2023-2024 SCHOOL YEAR" MIDDLE SCHOOL SIDELINE CHEER- KRIS ROBERTS

Ayes: 7 Nays: 0 Results: Carried

F. Recommendation to approve the following mentor teachers for our first through third year teachers for the 2023-2024 school year.

New Mentor

1. Breanna Kingsley Joyce Vanderhoef

2.Krista Tiedt
 2.Breanna Green
 2.Natalie Price
 2.Melissa Morgan
 2. Sally McKenney
 Jenny Decker
 Joyce Vanderhoef
 Kris Morgan
 Valerie Hopkins
 Deanna Salisbury

3. Lena Wylie
3. Grace Henning
3. Amber Payne
3. Melissa Griffith
4. Lisa Gerbracht
5. Lisa Gerbracht
6. Lisa Gerbracht

Middle School

Cameron Demory
 Geoffrey Muma
 Carter Pritchard
 Ashley Cass
 Ben Bishop
 Jen Natale
 Jarred Araujo
 Jarred Araujo

2. Lauren Millen Jen Natale

3. Charlene Keysor Aaron Wetters

High School Mentor

1. Mikayla Warner Kelly Buckley

2. Brittany Westendorp
2. Landon Iserhoth
2. Doug Helmling
2. Rachel Isanhart
2. Andrew Whittaker
3. Kris Roberts
3. Gene Gutierrez
Carrie Kunkle
Josh Johnson
Crystal Nelson
Kevin Mills
Jason Haines
Ted Mathakis

MOVED BY <u>NICHOLS</u> SUPPORTED BY <u>PYLMAN</u> TO APPROVE THE FOLLOWING MENTOR TEACHERS FOR OUR FIRST THROUGH THIRD YEAR TEACHERS FOR THE 2023-2024

ELEMENTARY NEW MENTOR

1. BREANNA KINGSLEY JOYCE VANDERHOEF

2.KRISTA TIEDT JENNY DECKER

2.BREANNA GREEN JOYCE VANDERHOEF

2.NATALIE PRICE KRIS MORGAN

2.MELISSA MORGAN VALERIE HOPKINS
2. SALLY MCKENNEY DEANNA SALISBURY

3. LENA WYLIE SARA LADD

3. GRACE HENNING
 3. AMBER PAYNE
 3. MELISSA GRIFFITH
 LISA GERBRACHT
 LISA GERBRACHT

MIDDLE SCHOOL

1. CAMERON DEMORY
 1. GEOFFREY MUMA
 3. BEN BISHOP
 4. JEN NATALE

1. CARTER PRITCHARD JARRED ARAUJO
 1. ASHLEY CASS JARRED ARAUJO

2. LAUREN MILLEN JEN NATALE

3. CHARLENE KEYSOR JEN NATALE

HIGH SCHOOL MENTOR

1. MIKAYLA WARNER KELLY BUCKLEY

2. RACHEL ISANHART TRAVIS VEIT

2. BRITTANY WESTENDORP
2. DOUG HELMLING
2. LANDON ISERHOTH
2. DREW WHITTAKER
CARRIE KUNKLE
CRYSTAL NELSON
JOSH JOHNSON
KEVIN MILLS

3. KRIS ROBERTS JASON HAINES3. GENE GUITERREZ TED MARTHAKIS

Ayes: 7 Nays: 0 Results: Carried

G. Consideration of designating an Evart Board of Education representative for the MASB 2023 Delegate Assembly.

MOVED BY <u>PYLMAN</u> SUPPORTED BY <u>WHITMAN</u> TO DESIGNATE <u>BRUGGEMA</u> AN EVART BOARD OF EDUCATION REPRESENTATIVE FOR THE MASB 2023 DELEGATE ASSEMBLY.

- Alan Bengry will be an alternate if needed for the November 9, 2023 meeting.

Ayes: 7 Nays: 0 Results: Carried

VIII. DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Policy 5702- in regards to lunch shaming. EPS qualifies for Free Breakfast and Lunch.

IX. SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT

- A. Enrollment- EPS students total- 885-895 Count Day October 4, 2023.
- B. A look forward- Shirley Howard shared all of the new things happening at EPS moving forward.

X. ADJOURNMENT

A. Recommendation to Adjourn

MOVED BY <u>BRUGGEMA</u>, SUPPORTED BY <u>MOODY</u> THAT THE MEETING BE ADJOURNED.

Ayes: 7 Nays: 0 Results: Carried

The meeting adjourned at 7:39 p.m.